October 17-19, 2011 at  Columbia University, New York City


Steering Committee

The ICCS Steering Committee provides high-level guidance and vision for the ICCS workshops. It ensures balance and continuity of the workshops and provides help and advice to the organizers in building and expanding the ICCS community. The Steering Committee promotes the workshops and generates the necessary political and financial support to ensure success and raise the stature of the workshops in the climate services community. Members represent the major constituencies in the world linked to climate services. They have 3 year appointments.

  • Jan Egeland, Executive Director of Human Rights Watch's Europe and Central Asia Division
  • Sylvie Jousseaume, Director of the National Institute of Sciences of the Universe, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS)
  • Antonio Moura, Director of the Meteorological Institute of Brazil (INMET); Third Vice-President, World Meteorological Organization (WMO)
  • Julia Slingo, Chief Scientist, U.K. Met Office
  • Youba Sokona, Coordinator of the African Climate Policy Center
  • Steve Zebiak, Director-General, International Research Institute for Climate and Society (IRI)